You may not realize just how much costs associated with uninsured drivers affects your auto insurance 10-15 rates. Despite efforts to insure uninsured drivers or get them to stop driving, many drivers in Texas still drive while uninsured. When you add drivers with unregistered vehicles or without valid licenses to the mix, you will see a lot of problems. Visit this URL for further information: https://www.texasquotes.com/cheap-car-insurance/
What does all of this information on uninsured drivers have to do with your driving? If you’re a responsible, licensed and insured driver, you may think that somebody else’s mistakes should have no impact on you. However, the costs quickly add up if you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured driver.
If you are involved in an accident with a driver that lacks a minimum amount of auto insurance, you may find that the other driver won’t pay for the damage they caused. Compliance efforts designed to force these irresponsible drivers to get insurance haven’t always had the desired effect. As a result, insured drivers often have to pay for additional auto insurance above the minimum required under Texas law.
Even though drivers who drive without insurance may face fines, incarceration or license suspensions, many take the risk and drive, regardless of the consequences. Although drivers have the option of paying surcharges to get their driving privileges reinstated and applying for occupational licenses, many find ways to skip these steps. Some of the ways that noncompliant drivers still continue to drive after an uninsured conviction include buying insurance that they cancel after the car is registered or using fraudulent insurance cards.
Uninsured drivers in Texas cost the state and its drivers almost $1 billion every year. Because of this, many drivers find their rates for collision and comprehensive coverage rising. Drivers often prefer to have coverage above the minimum liability amount to give themselves better protection, but want to avoid exceptionally high charges.
With as many as one in six uninsured drivers on the road in some counties, you want to make sure you’re always well-protected. One way in which you can avoid the high cost of tickets, uninsured surcharges, and higher insurance costs due to points against your driving record is by maintaining at least the minimum coverage that Texas requires. You can also avoid problems by making sure that you have your current insurance card on hand at all times while driving.
Texas drivers need to carry a minimum of 30/60/25 coverage. This liability coverage includes $30,000 for each person injured in the accident, with a total of up to $60,000 in coverage for the accident, and $25,000 for any property damage. Policies must have these minimum amounts to be valid, but Texas drivers can purchase extra coverage if they prefer.
Having a current proof of insurance card in the car is also a necessity. Even when you have a valid policy, you could still face a ticket if you are stopped by a police officer and cannot present proof of insurance. Make sure you always keep your policy current and practice safe driving methods that will reduce your risk of accidents.